Simple code for DDR3 SDRAM

rappysaha

Question

Hi,

I am very new at field of FPGA. Now I am working Genesys2. I have to control DDR3 memory. I find some examples in Digilent site for DDR3 using microblaze processor. But, in my case I don't have to use microblaze processor. I have to send some fixed value through the DDR3 memory like 8-bit data (X'FF') i.e. I will write that data into the Genesys2 DDR3 memory and readout the data from the memory. I already go through Xilinx manual ug_586 . But still it is not clear to me how to start coding for the DDR3 memory. My questions are:

1) Is it possible to have example code without using microblaze processor for DDR3 memory?

Or any suggestion for starting code to control DDR3 memory.

Actually, I have do it in any way. So any helpful suggestion will be appreciated.

Thank you.

12 answers to this question

@rappysaha,

Wow, I know what you mean!  Those are some wonderful, good, and hard questions to answer.  I'll tell you what I know:

1. I am working on a project to handle DDR3 SDRAM memory apart from Xilinx's Memory Interface Generator (MIG).  I've been working on that project for about two months now.  If I had it working, I would commend that approach to you.  (I know I just linked to a project on OpenCores ... and yet OpenCores has been down for a couple of days now.  Kind of sad ... I've got (what I think is a) nice blog describing my efforts to date.  The last news I have is that my "logic" for controlling the DDR3 SDRAM works in my home-made DDR3 simulator, and that (in the simulator) I get about a 9-clock delay from request to completion, where the MIG generated core takes about 23 clocks from request to completion.   (These are 81.25MHz clock ticks, running on an Arty ...)
  2. Just as a little background: