Gigabit Ethernet

agdiaz1

Question

Hello, I am a student of electrical engineering, and I am using a Genesys board with a Virtex-5 to try to send information and Gigabit Ethernet speed. Previously I was working with the Virtex-5 Embedded Tri-Mode Ethernet MAC Wrapper Core at MII speed and managed to learn from the example design provided (the address swap module). However, the example design that comes with the Core at GMII speed comes with more clock requirements that are difficult to implement. How can manage the constraints for all the clocks that are needed to make this example to work? 

Can somebody help me with making the example design work?.  

5 answers to this question

Did you look in the Ethernet demo project for the Genesys to see how the clocks are connected and constrained there?

http://digilentinc.com/Data/Products/GENESYS/Genesys_Lwipdemo.zip

The TEMAC Wrapper Getting Started Guide too might be useful: http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/v5_emac/v1_8/v5_emac_gsg340.pdf

Appendices B and C talk about the different clocking configurations for certain interface/speed combinations and how to constrain them. Are you trying to achieve 1000Mbps speeds over the GMII interface?

Could you point me to the exact example you are talking about? Also, posting specific questions rather than "manage the constraints" will increase your chances that someone will pick up your question. Is there an error you are getting, or perhaps a step you are stuck at?