ASIC Custom libraries

traymond

Question

I heard that ASIC has a CUSTOM library.

Does Vivado Suite2016 still support these libraries?

Is there a PDF that would explain ASIC and its libraries? or is it Library?

I assume the code is still written with Verilog or VHDL?

I heard that ASIC doesnt compile, does it program somehow?

Im interested in chip approximation using ASIC what tools would I need, programmers etc?

Since Im just starting out with Vivado should I only install the basic software, I installed everything would that make learning the

menus harder etc?

traymond

4 answers to this question

Hi traymond,

I looked at Xilinx's website and was only able to find this page on ASIC prototyping here where it talks about that you can prototype an ASIC on an FPGA and do some ASIC emulation on their Zynq SoC chips. Is this what you are attempting to do -- prototype an ASIC on an FPGA? 

Thanks,
JColvin

Well approximating older MOS CBM chips like in the C=64 8-bit computers etc.

One individual on Xilinx forum explained just what ASIC is and how the library creates what you need if a company 

provides the Libraries.  Commodore went bankrupt and so records of those gates havent been around for years, so 

youre guessing and figuring out approximately all gates, IO pins, voltages etc

The biggest problem is to possibly *maybe* create a remade IC somehow but be able to have the ability to plug that remade 

programmable IC into the 8-bit circuit but would ASIC be better because Xilinx doesnt support older 8-bit technology.

In the 80's and late 1990's CBM MOS made runs of a million ICS orr run, costing a million dollars, it would be double or triple prices to produce MOS chips in the traditional way CBM MOS made them, so uts just too costly, so FPGA using ASIC I have 

heard is the way to go.  My issue is starting simple and learning the basics of FPGA though.