Hello forum

sajis997

Hello everyone,

I think I better tell a bit about my self and my expectation from this forum. I am interested in algorithm design and programming. I have several years of experience in C++,but yet to program with any embedded systems. I am very keen to get into this paradigm and need your suggestion to guide the process.

I have already seen several course works in this site. Could any one provide me with the chronological order of the course works from "DIGILENT" to become a professional embedded developer ?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum!

You'll find many people here who love embedded programming.  I am one of them.  Embedded programming offers some unique, and yet very difficult, challenges over and above traditional programming.  For example, in traditional programming, you can debug using printf.  Sometimes you'll need a debugger.  In embedded programming, printf is often hard to come by--debugging starts with the blinky LED.  It's amazing how exciting an LED can be: now it turns on, now it turns off, now it blinks--that means it works!  (You get the idea.)  Unlike traditional programming, it is a lot harder to figure out where your code is failing in embedded programming--even the debugger can be a challenge to get runningd.  (Did the LED turn on?--it might be all you've got!)

If you wish to get your feet wet, learn about embedded programming, then start with the "Learn" links above.  There's a lot of projects there.  Plan on learning how to use every peripheral connected to ... whatever board you choose to start with.  If your goal is instead to become a professional embedded developer, then you may need to do more.  In that case, I would recommend you look up Bruce Land's lectures on youtube.  Just a personal opinion ...  (I'm still going through his lectures on the PIC32.)  Also: plan on making many mistakes.

Yours,

Dan

Thanks Dan,