Zybo Z7 compatibility with zynq XC7Z030

NN_SystemS

Question

Hi all,

I am kind of new to all of this, so any tips would be gladly appreciated. My team an I are working on a board with the zynq XC7Z030 (FBG484) on it and we would like to buy a couple of devboard to start programming before having the full PCB in our hands. The best would be to start working on the embedded Linux part (python) and also start developping some of the FPGA part. I was looking at the Zybo Z7 and since there is only the Zybo Z7-10 available (in stock), I was wondering if we might have some capatibility issues if we want to transpose the code developped on the Zybo to our own PCB platform or if the code should be compatible without any big problems?

Thanks alot!

Patrick

7 answers to this question

I believe that one glaring difference is that you will need a device license for the XC7Z030. Since this is a custom board, I suppose that the best way to do this is to buy a full license for the tools. You should check, but I'd expect that to cover the older ZYNQ devices. One issue is that recent versions of the tools are geared toward supporting the newer families and devices.  I'd expect that the major changes will be to the BSP since your board is likely to have different external hardware connected to the FPGA. It's unclear what kind of 'programming' you intend to do for your custom board that will port directly to a ZYBO.

Edited by zygot

Hey!

Zybo Z7010 is a popular device with very good support here in the forum. I started with Zybo Z7020 over 7010 predominantly because of additional capabilities that I would like to be available for future projects. I have not faced any problems with the board because Digilent has the board support tools for z7020 and the hw/embedded programming experience is similar to the 7010.