UART CODE

Trax

Question

Hello,

I'm new to FPGA programming

I would like to be able to write some registers in my basys3 board using the uart interface, the sample code in the GPIO demo however only sends date it does not recive them.

Where can i find some code that would implement an uart reciver?

Also where are good places to look for code samples and snipets.

Cheers

Trax

3 answers to this question

Here's two copies: One from a System on a Chip (SoC) for xess.com's XuLA2-LX25 board, and the other from a similar SoC project using Digilent's CMod-S6 board.  Both cores were developed on and for a Basys3 board, although the Basys project isn't posted anywhere at this time.  Also, you'll find a txuart.v file within each directory.

The XuLA2 UART in particular is a full service UART.  It will handle 5,6,7, or 8 bit data words, no parity, even parity, odd parity, mark/space (fixed) parity bits, one or two stop bits, and the baud rate is highly selectable.  (The baud rate selection is basically a divide of the clock, so from a 100MHz basys board clock, set the control register to 32'd25 to get 8 bits, No parity, 1 stop bit, and a 4MBaud rate.  In a similar fashion, setting the control register to a 32'd10417 will set you up for 9.6kB.

Yours,

Dan