Is PYNQ board good to start learning FPGA?

Foss_enth

Question

Hello FPGA community,

I am a beginner without prior knowledge of either FPGA or Python. I understand the advantage of PYNQ as an excellent way for rapid prototyping without requiring much knowledge about FPGA - Python API abstraction makes the process resemble microcontroller programming.
However, I would like to learn FPGA in a traditional way with well-established toolchain and workflow used in industry (Verilog, Vivado, Xilinx’s WebPACK…etc).
So leaning Python, Jupyter, notebook…etc is not a priority at the moment.
Will a PYNQ board (e.g. Z1) be a good starting point? and if it is, are there any tutorials or material to get me started besides the official PYNQ toolchain and workflow?

Your input will be much appreciated.

1 answer to this question

2 hours ago, Foss_enth said:

I understand the advantage of PYNQ as an excellent way for rapid prototyping without requiring much knowledge about FPGA - Python API abstraction makes the process resemble microcontroller programming.

I agree and couldn't have said it better, excluding the reference to excellence. The problem with this approach is that it stunts your growth as a programmable logic designer. It's also a walled garden that you will find frustrating to get out of once your project dreams outgrow the free IP and layers of user interaction.

An opinion to consider.

I'm not a believer is quick and easy. Learn FPGA development as it should be learned; as digital design. Sooner or later you will need to anyway.