ADC Configuration

Moris

Question

Hello guys,

Am a newbie here, I'm designing a DAQ system using AD7616 ADC and Zynq7000 FPGA chip.

I have tried to figure out how to start with the programming of ADC, am sorry to say that it is really difficult to me. 

I'm thinking the most important part is to program the ADC to read analog data from sensors and to transfer that to FPGA.

Not Sure if anyone have any ADC example project code that i can take reference to? 

Is there any document available in which complete detail of ADC(I know the basic theory of the ADC) is available like which parameters of the ADC are important, or with any coding example. 

Appreciate it and Thanks 

3 answers to this question

ADI has pretty good FPGA support for their device EVM boards, including the AD7616 and its siblings. ADI also has some good literature on a number of topics from which anyone an learn things. Nearby I've posted comments about using the AD7606 which I won't replicate here.

There are a lot of different ADC types and the datasheets for ADC devices can be difficult to parse if you aren't experienced. So, what I'm saying is that while you may find a document that is good at introducing the concepts of using ADC devices it's more likely that you will need to read quite a bit of literature on the subject if you really want to understand which converters are best for a particular application. The semiconductor industry has seen a lot of companies being bought out by larger companies and the converter market is no exception. Both ADI and Ti have good application notes to help you along. Since you've already made your choice of converter start with learning about how that one works. In my view there isn't a basic theory of ADC device, there is a basic theory for each of the ADC architectures and implementations.

On 3/15/2021 at 1:41 AM, Moris said:

I'm thinking the most important part is to program the ADC to read analog data from sensors and to transfer that to FPGA.