Cmod A7-15T PCIe

32768hertz

Question

Before I buy it, I need to ask... on Cmod A7-15T, PCI Express can be implemented? I know I cant stick it in a computer as it is, but just to learn how to do it, even if I need to wire Cmod A7-15T to the computer mainboard manually.

And by PCIe I mean: 7 Series Integrated Block for PCI Express IP, from Xilinx Vivado.

5 answers to this question

6 hours ago, 32768hertz said:

Before I buy it, I need to ask... on Cmod A7-15T, PCI Express can be implemented?

Yes, do ask before you buy.

The short answer is No.

PCIe uses transceivers. You aren't going to run transceivers off of a USB VBUS power supply. I seriously doubt that the lightweight PCB used by the CMODs can dissipate the heat produced by the MGT block, which, btw isn't powered on. You don't have a way to supply a clock to the transceivers. Need I go on? ( yes, by the way I'm just getting started )

So, let's say that you implement it by creating a bitstream. How are you going to test it? Even if you had a PCIe connector available how would you intend to use it on a host? ( you don't need a Linux kernel driver if you do it correctly as you can write a device mode application ).

If all you want to do is a Vivado project to see if you can do a design and get through bitgen you can just pretend that you have a board that can actually work in a PC, such as the KC705. But your question indicates that you want to buy hardware.

If you really want to do PCIe I can suggest based on experience, the Terasic OpenVino Starter Kit. It's not too expensive. It's supported with good hardware demos that work with any recent version of Quartus. It has Linux driver source code that will work with Centos 7. It has Windows source driver code that works on Win7 or WIn10 ( with some effort ). Yes, it costs more than a CMOD but you can actually do something useful with the platform. Terasic and Intel have some experience with PCIe.