External Clocking of Eclypse Z7

lauser

Question

I need to develop an RF DSP application for the Eclypse Z7 that will make use of the ADC and DAC Zmods for the board. However, because timing jitter is extremely significant, I need to have the Zynq-7000 (including the ADC and DAC Zmods) entirely clocked via an external reference (a special low phase-noise TXCO).

Is this possible, perhaps with some careful soldering? Which input pins would I use? I am a beginner, so what changes would I need to make in the project to support this external clocking?

3 answers to this question

8 hours ago, lauser said:

I am a beginner, so what changes would I need to make in the project to support this external clocking?

No one is going to appreciate my opinion here, but it's the best advice that I can think of.

Digilent sets itself apart in the FPGA development board space by providing a nice variety of external components like FLASH, Ethernet, video, etc. There are a few things that I'd consider necessary that never appear on their boards, like SMA clock-in clock-out connectors, external programmable clock modules, etc. Pristine clocking is the first and most fundamental aspect of a hardware design and in cases like yours a requirement. 

If you don't have to have an ARM processing complex I'd suggest using a different platform. In general FPGA platforms from Terasic have suitable external clocking inputs. I've used the Cyclone GT board with the DDC ADC/DAC add-on daughter cards with success. It even has PCIe. Intel based boards generally have proper clock inputs and output SMA connectors, as do the Xiinx name branded boards.