VHDL code for XADC & Picoblaze in VHDL

Helmsley

Question

Hello.

I am a newbie in FPGA. I am trying to understand the Arty A7 board. I was able to run the basic programs. While trying to employ picoblaze and xadc, I was able to find only the verilog code for xadc in Arty 7.

Are there codes/.vhd files for picoblaze-xadc communication with Arty A7?

Kindly help.

4 answers to this question

17 hours ago, Helmsley said:

Are there codes/.vhd files for picoblaze-xadc communication with Arty A7?

That was pretty quick. You've discovered lesson one, which is while it's usually possible to recreate designs and maybe even 'customize' them using the drag and drop IP design flow, getting the tools to help you do what you want to do is another matter. Perhaps you can get lucky and find someone else who's solved the problem but even then what does it get you?

I'd like to encourage you to forget about logic implementations of processors like MicroBlaze or PicoBlaze and just do a lot of VHDL or Verilog design projects starting with the very simple and adding more complexity as your skill grows. You'll learn a lot faster without the crutches. (If you just gotta do software development with your FPGA projects there are some nice cores for 8-bit ATMEL processors that work with toolchains for that product family.. just saying that you don't have to use FPGA vendor processor cores to do C programming on an FPGA board ).

A nice way to interact with your logic is a UART and you don't need a processor to do that. In fact, I don't ever use soft-core processors in my FPGA designs but most of them start out with a UART UI so that I can interact with the logic, especially as the design gets built up with more complexity.