Are FPGAs right for me?

chris235

Question

Hi,

this is my first post (after introducing myself in the New Users forum). I hope my question isn't inappropriate here...

TL;DR  How feasible is it to program e.g. an Artix-7 (or Spartan-6) at a "low level" wrt. instantiation, placing and routing etc?

I'm just a hobbyist, indeed electronics/programming is only one of my hobbies... so I don't actually *need* to use FPGAs. I'd be doing it for fun/satisfaction/distraction. Unfortunately, I suffer from severe depression (not Corona-related) so I'm looking to *avoid* a particular sort of frustration. (ie. fighting the tools).

I've started reading some books (a VHDL textbook, FPGA Prototyping by Verilog examples -- Pong Chu, Intro To FPGA Book -- Mike Field etc) and gone through a bunch of Xilinx user guides, and even a couple of YouTube videos and technical EE papers...

... and I'm worried that FPGAs might not be a good fit for me :-(

In reading about whether to learn VHDL or Verilog I've come across the ADA vs C language analogy. With regard to automatic floor-planning I've come across the "trying to overcome bad coding by using an optimizing compiler" analogy... etc.

Now, I'm weird. For small projects I actually *prefer* ARM assembly code to C, let alone Java or, God forbid!, C++. In electronics I prefer to place components and route circuits manually.

So, I guess I'd be wanting to instantiate things rather than have the software infer them and have more, rather than less (or no) control over placing  and routing. I understand that for big projects or large teams you just want/need to get something that meets requirements, that can be ported to a different device, or maintained by someone else. But that's not the situation I'm in.