Patterns on EEBoard - How to produce stable outputs?

CalamityHowler

Question

I'm a Patterns newbie.

I'm trying to produce a stable clock output that is steady, in free-running mode. Presently I'm not using any triggering, simply setting up a single DIO line to be type Clock, PP output, Continuous mode. What I'm getting is a square wave output that is not stable - it 'shifts' periodically as if Patterns is outputting an expected sequence of nice clean square waves, then resetting, and then outputting another good sequence of square waves. How do I set this up to produce output that is totally stable, without the periodic 'hiccups'?

My goal is to produce a digital pattern consisting of 8 channels, each as PP output, each executing at its own specific frequency, and synchronized to line 1 as the clock line. And without any instability in any of the outputs. If this needs to be done in some mode other than free-running, with the use of a trigger input, that's ok. But the tutorials and manuals don't seem to cover what I'm trying to do in enough detail.