Recommend me a FPGA Dev board.

tuskiomi

Question

Hello, all. I'm an aspiring CPU designer, looking to design my first CPUs, have compiler errors, and learn a lot along the way. I finished my first FPGA class this last semester, and I'm hungry for more. The FPGA we used in class was the Digilent Nexys A7. This board worked well for what we did in class, but I would like to upgrade, as I found myself commonly exceeding the number of cells available during experimentation. Here are my working requirements:

Must have:

• At least one Ethernet port, either directly connected, or connected via PHY.  
  • Some sort of EEPROM or non-volatile storage capability
  • Onboard display for de-bugging on the fly. Can be a LCD, 7-segs, LEDs, whatever.
  • Must be around or under 1k$ US
  • Be shipped from North America
  • Internal clocks of at least 50MHz
  • Xilinx-based FPGA
  • If not supported by Vivado web-pak, it must come with a license to synthesize and implement RTL HDLs.

It would be nice to have:

• Many, many logic cells
  • Three Ethernet ports
  • On-board interfaces (buttons, switches, etc)
  • onboard DIMM slots for RAM,
  • USB programming interface
  • A board listed under Vivado's 'Default parts' menu when creating a project.

With these requirements, what would be the best FPGA development board for me?

23 answers to this question

18 minutes ago, tuskiomi said:

Okay, processor company jabbing aside ;-),

But it's so satisfying! No really, the unnamed company in question is a study in how companies suffer from their own scorch and burn competitive strategies.   Really, competition is good for everyone, including those who have an affinity toward monopolistic control over an industry. It's unfortunate that we've reverted back to the bad old 19th century as a society. When I make my cheap shots I take it seriously. Know you history future tech overlords!