USB audio on PYNQ-Z1

tara901

Question

Hi there, I am pretty new to using the pynq-z1 board. I wish to do some audio recording via a usb microphone! I am struggling with doing this successfully, is anyone able to help me with this?

I am getting "no soundcards found" when issuing alsa commands arecord -l and aplay -l. I understand pynq -z1 receives audio samples as PWM or PDM, but im not sure exactly what that means in terms of linux drivers available. 

any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

4 answers to this question

Thank you so much for your reply!

Im using 4.19.0-xilinx-v2019.1. I downloaded the image for the pynq z1 v2.5 from http://www.pynq.io/board.html

I am currently using the Ugreen audio adapter seen on amazon here: https://www.amazon.ca/UGREEN-Universal-Headphone-Microphone-Raspberry/dp/B01N905VOY.

I am trying to feed the pynq z1 board audio from my phone via a 3.5mm extention cord connected to my phone at one end and the ugreen adapter at the other. This is in turn to the z1 via usb. 

Hi @tara901,

Depending on what your end goal is you will have to enable the CONFIG_SND_USB_* (most probably CONFIG_SND_USB_AUDIO, but I can't be sure because I don't own your adapter to test it out) or the CONFIG_USB_AUDIO in the Linux kernel. Both require ALSA and USB to be active in the kernel.

I won't go in to details on what either the CONFIG_SND_USB_* or CONFIG_USB_AUDIO does, the best place to read up on it is on the ALSA wiki where you can find more details about what they are. I must warn you here, ALSA is very finicky, it might not work as expected from the begging.