Genesys 2 Audio Codec with FIR filter

itse me mario

Question

Hello everybody,

I´m trying to implement a FIR filter with a sampling rate of 16 kHz on the Genesys 2 Board (Vivado 2019.2, VHDL). For that reason I need to configure the onboard Audio-Codec (ADAU1761). I already designed a FIR-filter, that I want to use later. Unfortunately I am quite new to FPGA design and I´m struggling a bit with it.

I found an article „Audio Interface for the Zedboard“ from Stefan Scholl (TU Kaiserslautern Germany, see https://kluedo.ub.uni-kl.de/frontdoor/deliver/index/docId/4034/file/zedboard_audio_doc.pdf), which is based on a framework from Mike Field alias hamster).  Also the VHDL-files are included (see https://github.com/ems-kl/zedboard_audio).

I converted this framework into a Genesys 2 framework, since it is the same Audio Codec. Unfortunately something is not working and I don´t know how to go on right now.

At first I want to give the LINE IN input directly to the HP OUT Output. As a next step I want to integrate my previous FIR filter. For evaluation of proper functionality of the FIR filter I´m going to use the Analog Discovery 2 (analyzing the transfer function with sinus sweeps).

My next steps:

1.  I wanted to use the ILA (Integrated Logic Analyzer) for the signal values. Unfortunately I have some problems when integrating the ILA for line_in_ and hphone_out_ signals (Error: OBUFT [DRC REQP-1581] obuf loaded: OBUFT_i i_audio/…/OBUFT_inst pin O drives one or more invalid loads. The loads are: i_audio/…/i2c_data[0]_i_1
  2. Moreover I wanted to use the AD2 as logic analyzer and therfore route the signals on some pins (I´m waiting for bread board cables).

Furthermore when generating the bitsteam I get critical warnings:

[Timing 38-282] The design failed to meet the timing requirements. Please see the timing summary report for details on the timing violations.