Zybo z7_20 hdmi out for SDx 2017.4

Laumont

Question

Hi!

I'm a software developer not used to working with FPGA's and I have a video application algorithm on SDSoC 2017.4 for my Zybo Z7_20 reVISION platform. In this video app I read a video from the sd_card data and process it, then write into the sd_card the images of each frame proccessed.

I wanted to stream out the processed frames through HDMI but I don't know how. I've been looking a Filter2demo to see how the video stream is displayed on the screem throught hdmi, but I don't really understand because it uses a drm controller and buffers and I don't know how to change it to make it read my video frames instead of reading the hdmi input and then displaying them.

Can anybody help me?

I attach the project I'm trying to change. Thanks!!!

pca_stream.zip

12 answers to this question

Hello @Laumont,

With this kind of project with SDSoC, since you're using some demo sources from Xilinx, I think that maybe you'll find more help on the Xilinx forum. 

However if you're thinking of trying some video processing in Vivado HLS, I can ask someone to give you some guidance, otherwise I don't have experience working with SDSOC. I'll ask around about this.

8 hours ago, Ana-Maria Balas said:

Hello @Laumont,

With this kind of project with SDSoC, since you're using some demo sources from Xilinx, I think that maybe you'll find more help on the Xilinx forum. 

However if you're thinking of trying some video processing in Vivado HLS, I can ask someone to give you some guidance, otherwise I don't have experience working with SDSOC. I'll ask around about this.

Hi @Ana-Maria Balas I've been trying to achieve an answer on Xilinx forum but no one answered.

Vivado HLS works as well because I think I can incorporate the project into SDSoC afterwards, so please I'd be very thankful if you'd ask someone for help! ☺️

Thanks!

49 minutes ago, BogdanVanca said:

Hello @Laumont