VI hangs until I unplug AD2

bitstre@m

Question

Hello, 

I created a sub VI which contains a simple analog channel acquisition flow using the the AD2. I wanted to use a START and a STOP button to control its operation. However, once I hit the START button, the VI hangs and won't respond to any front panel action until I unplug the AD2 device. It's probably something fundamentally wrong with the way I am implementing it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG

Scope Hang Debug.vi AD (SubVI).vi

8 answers to this question

Hi @bitstre@m,

I'm not a LabVIEW expert, but should your Scope Start input on your block diagram be connected to something? I'm not sure what options are available in the VI, but there usually is a manual trigger option. That's normally done via a button within WaveForms itself, but maybe there is a way to connect it to the Trigger Source.

Thanks,
JColvin

Hi JColvin,

After I hit the Start Button, the execution starts fine and the AD2 waits for the trigger condition.
I turned on "Highlight Execution" I noticed that execution is stopped inside the DWF MSO Read vi (see image attached) which is expected since the trigger has not arrived yet. However, I want to be able to interrupt it when I hit the STOP button but it seems like no other event has the ability to interrupt the DWF MSO Read vi (other than unplugging the AD2).

Any suggestions?

image.png

Hi @bitstre@m,

Normally, this would be done by pressing the "Stop" button once the acquisition is going.