Nexys video Artix-7 board - PCIe Ethernet FMC high throuput and low latency connections/applications

QuantAI-go

Question

Hello,

I am a beginner in FPGA development. I would like to design applications in Financial Technology, Quantitative Risk Management/Simulation, High Frequency / Low Latency Algorithmic Trading, AI / Machine Learning and Digital Signal Processing.

I am planning to buy the Nexys video Artix-7 to start developing the core FPGA design skills and progressively prototype benchmark/ Proof-of-Concept (PoC) demo applications using the full computational capacity of the Artix-7 XC7A200T. 

Could you please advise what would be the best data/peripheral connection options to achieve high throughput and low latency on this board?

Is it possible to extend the board with PCIe?

To get the full Ethernet capacity, could you please advise if purchasing a TEMAC IP license is advised and at what price?

What are the alternative options and industry standards?

Many thanks

YM

12 answers to this question

You're in Luck! Here at Quick-draw Bill's University of Cosmetology, Neuro-Surgical, and Electrical Engineering Arts we equip people for the multi-dimensional skills required by tomorrow's workplace. Sorry... just kidding... haven't finished my morning cup of coffee.

So while I can wrap my head around what most of the things you mention might entail I'm still having difficulty figuring out how all them are connected. Fortunately, I'm awake enough to figure out where to start the interrogation. You didn't think that you could come here and get help without an interrogation did you?