Waveforms Linux Install Not Working

martym

Question

I'm fairly new to Linux and Waveforms, so apologies if I am missing something obvious.  I am trying to install Waveforms on a Chromebook with Linux support enabled.

The version of Waveforms I am attempting to install:  

digilent.waveforms_3.12.2_amd64.deb

The version of my OS:

$ cat /etc/*-release
PRETTY_NAME="Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)"
NAME="Debian GNU/Linux"
VERSION_ID="10"
VERSION="10 (buster)"
VERSION_CODENAME=buster
ID=debian

The error I get when trying to install:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  digilent.waveforms: Depends: libc6 (>= 2.14) but it is not installable
                      Depends: digilent.adept.runtime (>= 2.17.1) but it is not installable

So, it seems like dependency issues.  I checked my version of libc6 and it is greater that 2.14.

$ apt list libc6
Listing... Done
libc6/stable,now 2.28-10 arm64 [installed]

I have separately downloaded Adept 2 runtime version digilent.adept.runtime_2.20.1-amd64.deb.  I get the following error when trying to install it.

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  digilent.adept.runtime: Depends: libc6 (>= 2.5) but it is not installable

So, this seems like I need libc6 2.5 or greater, but I can't seems to find any higher version.  So, I feel like I'm in a recursive loop.  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!

4 answers to this question

On 4/14/2020 at 12:51 AM, attila said:

Hi @martym

In Debian 10 the libc6 version is 2.28 which is higher than the required 2.5 or 2.14, so it should install...

You can try forcing the installation by:
sudo dpkg -i --force-depends digilent.adept.runtime...deb digilent.waveforms...deb

Hello @attila

Thank you for the prompt response.  Forcing the install lead to some good learning opportunities.  Here is what I found: