Board for project

Siddharth

I am a student. Me and my friends are working on spartan 6 fpga based digital circuit for torque vectoring. I wish to use the fpga for PWM motor control (2 BLDC motors) and to make some calculations for which variables will be fed using hall effect sensors. Can you suggest me a board for the same. I am considering 

1.Nexys 3 Spartan-6 FPGA Trainer Board 

2.Atlys Spartan-6 FPGA Trainer Board 

Ps: if you think that some other board can help us then please do tell. We can consider other FPGA's too if Spartan 6 is not available.

Hi Siddharth,

I apologize for not getting back to you sooner. Either of the boards you listed will work nicely for your application, but any FPGA will be able to accomplish what you are hoping to do. The biggest thing that I would recommend would be to use either a PmodHB3 or a PmodHB5; both of these modules nicely collect all of your signals (motor direction, motor enable, and two feedback lines for hall effect sensors) into one board that you can plug into a Pmod port and allow you to attach your external motor power to the module (presuming your motors do not run at too high of a voltage).

There is a project available on the Nexys 3 Resource Center that uses the PmodHB5 to drive DC motors that you can easily modify for other boards or newer software programs (such as Vivado for a 7-series based FPGA over ISE for a deprecated 6-series based FPGA).

Let me know if you have any more questions.

Thanks,
JColvin

Hello Colvin

Thanks for the reply. But I have few queries.

1. Actually we wish to use this for torque vectoring in a vehicle and FPGA are really fast and high performance. That's why we are going for FPGA. Do you think we don't need one? because what we wish to have is response within a microsecond. ( and if possible a few nanoseconds)

2. We are currently making a simple prototype but we look further to expand this as in, the inputs shall go up to 4 or 5.