FPGA board Eclypse Z7 for power electronics application - advice

gutobaldi

Question

I'm a newbie here and I’m working on a inverter test bench project where I have two three-phase inverters connected through an inductive load. The idea is to emulate in real time the behave of an electrical machine. To be clearer, the first inverter is going to be tested (Device Under Test) and the second one plus the inductive load must behave like an electrical machine. To do so, we are going to use a FPGA board, which must have the following specifications:

- Capable to drive both inverters switching at 50kHz (each inverter has 6 MOSFETs switching at this frequency)

- 20 digital I/O

- 4 ADC with 16 bits (ideally) and 20MHz at least. The ADCs can be integrated or not in the FPGA board

- Capable to communicate in real time with Matlab/Simulink

- The board will be placed inside the test bench, in a temperature around 50°C

We know that we are going to use Vivado to the VHDL coding, but we are not sure about the ADCs, regarding the Eclypse Z7 with the two Zmod ADCs. We want to code the least possible in VHDL (no VHDL coding if possible), so my questions are:

1) Are we going to have to code the ADC data acquisition?

2) Is the VHDL code generation done automatically by Matlab? I do have the toolbox for HDL coding.

Our budget is around €1000,00.

I would like to know if the board Eclypse Z7 with the two Zmod ADCs is a good choice for the application and if you have another advices it would be highly appreciated.

I hope I made myself clear. Thank you!

4 answers to this question

Your requirement for 4 ADC channels plus 20 GPIO lines will be tough using the EclypseZ7. At the moment you only have a choice of 2 SYZYGY ADC pods, one from Digilent and one from Opal Kelly. It's been quite a few years since I used the FPGA/MATLAB toolchain and then it was limited to particular platforms. This might be an issue.