How do you use verilator with Xilinix unimacro elements?

Avogadro

Question

Hello,

I was having problems using verilator for a design thats using BRAM_SINGLE_MACRO for single port RAM. I have found the instantiation template from https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2012_2/ug953-vivado-7series-libraries.pdf

I decided to make a module with just the macro and try to get it working with verilator (I attached the .v file).

When running the command:

Verilator -Wall -cc BRAM_test.v

Im getting a lot of errors(I attached a txt with errors). Im not sure how to fix this or if Im doing something wrong. Im pretty new at this and at using the verilator.

Any help would be appreciated.

BRAM_test.v Error.txt

21 answers to this question

I realize that more than a few readers of this thread don't care about what I think. So I say don't take my word for it, take Einstein's advice on FPGA ( and a lot of similar ) development:

Loosely paraphrased: "Things should be as simple as they can possibly be, but now simpler. Things should be as complicated as they have to be but no more complicated".

Einstein was a pretty smart fellow wasn't he?

3 minutes ago, zygot said:

Who, in there right mind would do an HDL design using overly complicated bus structures when it doesn't have added value and overly complicates a design?

Someone who didn't have to pay for the hardware they were selling, of course!  ??

6 minutes ago, D@n said:

They have an AXI based block RAM IP block that gets horrendous throughput performance, whereas you could get nice one write per cycle performance from simply inferring a block RAM.

I always use native, not AXI, interfaces when using the memory Wizards for ram or FIFOs. Who, in there right mind would do an HDL design using overly complicated bus structures when it doesn't have added value and overly complicates a design? I don't want to offend anyone but i feel the same way about Wishbone and all the other bus standards.