Digital Steps Quadrature Encoder = Analog Angle - Plotted on Oscilloscope

1bioKAT

Question

I am trying to set up a motor's encoder to provide rotational angle as an analog signal that I can plot along with other monitored voltages/currents, etc on the Oscilloscope.  With the encoder providing a digital signal, I have tried to modify a script used to provide numerical values of the relative step spacing into a pure step counts (I would then calibrate these degrees), but am having trouble with getting this code to work.  Additionally, I am second guessing if I am looking at the game-plan properly as even though the code that I am modifying provides analog values, I am not able to get these values to plot on the scope.  Given the somewhat basic nature of my code, it is probably clear to some that I am not an experienced coder, but I am looking forward to learning more.

Any guidance on where to look/what to try would be appreciated.

DC-Encoder - Oscilloscope Angle.PNG

DC-Encoder - Oscilloscope Angle_Digital-Script.PNG

13 answers to this question

Thanks @JColvin for the reply,

In case it helps you, or your colleague when he returns, I am providing further information of what I have continued to try.

With the Measurements tool, I can show the number of cycles seen by Encoder_A (red "A" == 667), but this shows the total number of steps on the oscilloscope screen or in a set memory window (from what I can tell), not the total accumulated step count or the step count at that time = n (continuing to increase over time if positive steps [n++], and decrease if negative steps [n--]...) which is more what I am looking for so that I can correlate power with "real" position.