Eclypse Z7 First Impressions

zygot

Question

First off the two ZMOD offerings by Digilent are well designed with uncommonly good documentation. Well done, and thanks for adding SYSYGY support. I would have preferred a non-ZYNQ platform... but.. The Eclypse Z7 with one ADC and one DAC ZMOD is a good value and sets itself apart from anything else in the Xilinx FPGA development board space. .

Software support is another matter. I realize the effort, due to your framework, is immense and hopefully not complete. It's just too complicated.  I spent almost a day before being able to build and run the Linux based demos for the ADC and DAC ZMODs. Started with a WIn10 Vivado installation and still haven't managed to build anything. It took a while but I did manage to build demo executables for the Linux based projects on Unbuntu 19.10 using the Vivado 2019.1 SDK. Admittedly, I'm not a ZYNQ expert but I can create a Vivado project using one of the available hardware interfaces, build a bitstream and a standalone application for any other Z7xxx board in about 30 minutes from scratch. My advice is to use a Linux host for Eclypse development.

It may be that I'll create a Linux application for the Eclypse/ZMOD one day, but I'll want to run the application from within Linux, not the SDK. Hopefully, the lack of an HDMI output won't be an issue. I'm hoping that you have a path envisioned to let users do that.

My expectation for getting started with this system was to use my normal flow by starting in Vivado, creating a bitstream supporting the SYZYGY ports and use the SDK to create an application. Normally, this is almost trivial. For any of the ZMODs this is impossible as things stand.

Will there be a process for creating a bare-metal standalone bitstream and application in the near future that remotely resembles the 'normal' Xilinx tools flow?