Hardware for a game project

eriksan

Question

Hi, I'm new to this and am considering buying these items

chipKIT Max32
pmod OLEDrgb
pmod JSTK2

My question is, how do I connect the pmod devices to the Max32? Do I need the following?

Digilent Arduino PMOD shield

I'm also considering getting a MPLAB Snap, would I need some sort of cable for that, like they mention in the video?

Also, if I'd like to use https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC32MZ2048EFM144#additional-features what hardware do I need? Breadboard and cables?

3 answers to this question

Hi @eriksan,

The Pmod Shield will not integrate with the Max32 as the Max32 has a different pin layout, so I would not recommend that.

In terms of connecting the Pmods to the Max32 you will need a set of wires to connect the Pmods to Max32. If you are using the libraries for the Pmod OLEDrgb and the Pmod JSTK2 from their respective Resource Centers, then the main thing regarding getting these Pmods set up would be too have the two Pmods share a SPI bus, which the Max32 has one dedicated port on pins 50 to 53. Multiple SPI modules can share the MOSI, MISO, and SCK lines, though they will need to have separate SS lines.

I haven't heard of the MPLAB Snap, but I do know that the Max32 does not have an 8-pin connector available, but does have the 6-pin ICSP connector. Based on that and the datasheet for the Microchip Snap, http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/50002787B.pdf, that indicates you do need an extra cable, I would instead recommend using a chipKIT PGM or a picKIT 3 which already includes the needed cables and readily connect to the Max32 and enables debugging of the Max32.

As for the last question about the board, I would highly recommend finding a board that already has that chip integrated since creating such a board is not a trivial task. If you do want to use a PIC32MZ chip though, Digilent does have the Wi-FIRE board which uses a PIC32MZ2048 chip.