Hello!

Aaron Cantu

Question

Hello everyone.

I'm a student at UTSA and we're working on our final project for Digital system design. My major is for Computer Engineer and focusing hasn't been established just yet. 

My group and I are working on making a "game" using the VGA port on the Nexys ddr 4 board.

I joined in hopes of being pointed in the right direction on where to find more reading material on how the VGA port works, constraint file/pin setup for the VGA; and any information on how to program the pixels individually (if possible or if i have to upload a image and work around that process).

Thank you

-Aaron Cantu

ps If everything turns out right I'll share the game with everyone.

2 answers to this question

@Aaron Cantu,

Welcome to the forums!

I write a blog dealing with all kinds of FPGA topics, from beginners all the way up to formally verifying AXI interfaces.  On that blog, you'll find an article on how to verify a VGA controller, as well as examples of how a VGA emulator could be used to debug many of the issues you might have.  Many video controllers also require some kind of asynchronous FIFO, so you can find an article discussing how to build and verify one of those as well.  One of the things I have yet to write about is how to build a core to read from memory in order to display it on a screen.  I can point you to examples of that code if you'd like.  Likewise I haven't yet written any sprite code, such as adding a game image to an already built video stream--so I don't have examples of my own to offer you there, but I imagine you might find some if you look around hard enough.

Feel free to check that out to see if its useful to you at all,

Dan

Hi,