iic setup failure

scw7t3

Question

I am new to working with FPGAs so please bear with me. I am using the Digilent Arty A7 Artix-7 100T. I ran through the tutorials and some example designs for my board and everything is working. I tried building a simple Microblaze design for axi iic and the design checker has no errors and the binary was built fine. I exported everything to SDK and the UART self test works, but the iic and spi self tests both fail. I tried seeing where it failed and I think it might have something to do with the pointer location or the interrupt. I have also tried the other examples and hooking a sensor up to the iic pins and hooking up an oscilloscope and nothing happens. There are no errors in the debugger. I have already gone through the provided material and can't make heads or tails on the issue.iic_test.thumb.JPG.40af7fd0171eeae46f38757d36671178.JPG

iic_sdk_log.JPG

iic_test.txt

5 answers to this question

*UPDATE* 

I was playing around with the debugger, and it looks as if it skips writing to the actual register. There's an #ifndef ENABLE_SAFETY that looks like it's blocking the else statement from happening which from what I can found is what actually talks to the register.

I tried editing this file, but it must be protected in some way because as soon as I save the file it reverts to it's previous form. 

Since I figured out simple debugging, I should be able to get more info if needed. 

Thanks

reg_issue.JPG

*UPDATE*

Looks like there's something going on with memory. I tried to manually write to the peripheral address using the xsct console but it will not change the value. I changed other address values using this took to make sure that the tool is working.

I even used mwr -force 0x40800028 0x01234567 and the address never changes

I verified in the xparameters.h file that my address is correct and that it was defined correctly. 

I rebuilt the project and disabled the cache of the microblaze and no change.