Basys3 Memory

trian

Question

For a project, I need to store the data comes from a camera and another data image from a laptop in Basys3. I am quite new at these stuff so I couldn't be sure if I can store both of them to make effects and combine them. Can I do it on Basys3? Can SPI Flash memory and SRAM based memory cells in it be used?

3 answers to this question

@trian,

Truly answering this question is rather complex and will likely depend upon more details than you have shared.  You'll need to check the camera and display's I/O capabilities, the FPGAs I/O capabilities, pixel clock rates, the size of the display in pixels, your memory bandwidth and more.  If you intend to have a CPU on board, you'll also need to make sure you allocate space for it's memory.  That's a lot of analysis you'll need to do.  It's doable, but expect to make a couple mistakes along the way.  We all do.  Some of us seem to make more than others ...

I personally tried to do something similar (framebuffer to VGA output) using the Basys3 only to discover in hindsight that it doesn't have a lot of internal RAM.  The Basys3 doesn't come with any off-chip RAM, so if you want RAM all you have to work with is the block RAM.  In my own design, I only managed to scrounge 128kB together before running out of resources on chip.  I was then sadly disappointed when I couldn't fit any decent sized framebuffer on the Basys3.  What good is a VGA when you don't have a framebuffer?

Instead, I used flash memory as a ROM-based framebuffer.  Flash, however, is slow so it took a lot of work to get it fast enough.  (I compressed my images)  This allowed me to present a basic slide-show at 640x480.  I haven't tried higher resolutions (yet).  At the time, I thought I'd never do any better and gave up trying.