Petalinux Build fail: Arty S7-50 (using Petalinux Support for Digilent Boards README)

Tejna

Question

Hi,

I am working on Petalinux to get it running on Arty S7-50 Digilent Board, and am following the Petalinux Support for Digilent Boards README. I am currently using Petalinux 2017.2 installer and Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS (Dual boot Ubuntu and Windows). I have successfully installed Petalinux and have completed all the steps mentioned in README until Build the petalinux project. The petalinux-config --oldconfig command was successful but when I run the petalinux-build command I am getting the following errors listed in the attached screenshot.

I have tried looking up the same online, but did not get the clarity on what is causing the error or how I can rectify it — from the line below I see that it is trying to access a folder named "mitchellorsucci" which does not exist on the PC. I am new to petalinux, any idea on where I could be going wrong would be highly helpful.

PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/mitchellorsucci'
ls: cannot access '/home/mitchellorsucci/artys/Petalinux-Arty-S7-50/Arty-S7-50/build/tmp/log/cooker/plnx_microblaze': No such file or directory

Thank you,
Tejna

config success.png

build fail.png

16 answers to this question

Hello,

Since you mentioned that you successfully built the mcs file you can choose an alternate way to program the flash. Instead of using the SDK (the recommended way in the mentioned readme), let's use Vivado.

Please open Vivado, do not open a project. In the the welcome screen please open Tasks/Hardware manager. Then Open Target / Autoconnect, you should see your FPGA in the Hardware tree. Right click on FPGA, select "Add Configuration Memory device ...". Select s25fl128sxxxxxx0-spi-x1_x2_x4.

Then right click on the flash device you just added in the Hardware tree, select "Program Configuration Memory Device ..." and select your mcs file to be programmed.