Interfacing PMOD in Vivado

krusing

Question

I'm really new to this all, so apologies. I couldn't find a simple answer to my question about the PMOD connectors (specifically the standard PMOD JE) on the ZYBO.

I have, for example, an 8 bit counter in VHDL. I want to output these 8 bits to JE. It's all very simple, but I'm not sure how to start. I've read tutorials which go far more complex than I want to right now. I've tried creating an IP block out of VHDL code, and I've also tried just adding the "Binary Counter" IP block.

1. How do I get a clock signal to input to the counter? I tried adding an IP called "Clocking Wizard," and running the Connection Automation. Then I get errors about being unable to place reset_rtl, which was an input created by the Connection Automation.

2. Is there a tutorial that I've missed somewhere, which outlines creating a simple design and outputting something on the PMOD pins?

4 answers to this question

Not sure if this will help but I had a similar question that I posted on 4 April titled "Getting pmod ports into a block diagram"

It was answered by Andrew Holzer on 7 April.  He referred me to some files to download, which I did and it got me going again.

You did not miss any tutorial that I know if.

Hope this helps.

Snohomish

On 4/14/2016 at 11:24 PM, snohomish77 said:

Not sure if this will help but I had a similar question that I posted on 4 April titled "Getting pmod ports into a block diagram"

It was answered by Andrew Holzer on 7 April.  He referred me to some files to download, which I did and it got me going again.

You did not miss any tutorial that I know if.

Hope this helps.

Snohomish

Thanks Snohomish,

I took a look at that post, but the interface to those parts seemed to be AXI4, which I don't understand that well.