ssm

high sampling rate problems

Question

Posted (edited)

Hi,

I am new to the AD2 board, and I am doing the following:

Experiment: using the scope in waveforms to read in data at a sampling rate 2M and higher, and number of collected samples is 16M. I am using Mac OS.

problem: when I use rate to be 2M, the reading of the samples is dropping after saving about 12M samples, so I either get around 12M samples only or the 4M left are saved as zeros. Increasing the rate increases the problem.

Questions:

- is this a USB problem? if it is, is there a way to go around the USB? using another board or module 

- is this a buffer size problem? I am putting the number of buffers to be 1K, and the scope setting to be 2x16K 

- although the board specs say I can get up to 100M rate, is there a way to that practically?

thank you for your time,

Edited by ss_majzoub@yahoo.com

10 answers to this question

Posted (edited)

Hi @ssm

The OscilloScope has multiple operation modes:
- Repeated: lets you capture up to 8/16k samples per channel at up to 100MHz.
- Scan Screen/Shift: for monitoring slow signals continuously
- Record: lets you capture large amount of samples (16M). The data streaming limits the rate to about 1MHz.
+ Under Time options external clocking can be selected based on a trigger signal. The ADC always works on the internal 100MHz clock, only the sample storage is controlled by external signal.

The Analog Discovery has 8/16k sample device buffer for Repeated or Scan captures, at up to 100MHz. For 16k buffer select the 2nd device configuration under Settings/Device Manager.
In Record mode this is used as fifo-buffer and the data is stream to host over USB, limiting the rate to about 1Msps. The buffer overflow is indicated by "samples lost/could be lost message".

image.png.15939609371e7cc2a39814de417f2439.png

Edited by attila

ok, thank you again for the reply,