2-Channel Analog Acquisition with Digital Trigger

iDetect

Question

I build radar systems for a living, and I'm testing the Analog Digilent 2 as an A/D, timing control for other RF hardware, RF switch control, trigger source.       

Here's what I need to do:

1. Write the software with python using the Waveforms SDK running on Windows 10.
  2. Acquire signals on 2 analog channels simultaneously.   This must be triggered at a periodic rate on an input other than the two analog in channels.
  3. Generate a pulse width of p nanoseconds at an x kilohertz rate.   This is a TTL signal.     This pulse is used for RF pulse generation, but also as a trigger for the analog channels.   All digital out signals must be synchronized.
  4. Capture n samples on both channels for a maximum of 256 triggers.   Typically 128 or 256 is used -- a 2^n number  of triggers is used for FFT processing.   Capture to arrays (or lists in the case of python) must be real time.
  5. Rearrange the lists so that an FFT can be taken from the ith sample of each trigger event.   So if I have 128 trigger events, and I capture 1024 samples on each event, then I  take 128 values from index 0 of all trigger events and compute a complex FFT.   Then I repeat for index 1, 2, … 1024.   In radar terms, each sample relates to a range value.   If sampling at 80 MSPS, each sample equates to 2 meters of range.   So 1024 samples = 2048 meters of total range.    The complex FFT computes the Doppler frequencies seen for each of those sample range points.   

Progress: 

A. I have successfully used the example SDK program named Digital_Duty.py to generate a x kHz pulse rate with p width in nanoseconds.    I modified it to continue doing it until the program is terminated.   The test values are 4 kHz pulse rate (trigger rate) and the pulse width is 300 nanoseconds.   The output is on DIO Channel 1.   The AD2 works great at this.