Zybo Z7 Getting Started problem - I'm stuck already!

Rockytop

Question

Trying to get started with the Zybo-Z7 board and following the "Getting Started with Zynq" tutorial ( here ).

Using Vivado 2018.2 because that's what the latest Pcam tutorial uses (my ultimate application). I can get down to the point where you add the 2 gpio IP blocks. But when "Run Connection Automation" is selected, the popup window does not have an option to select the board interface (switches and LEDs). These are un-commented in the constraint file.

I'm using the latest board files and constraint files. Project Summary shows the correct board part.

I have a feeling I'm missing something simple. I've uninstalled/reinstalled everything. It's a fairly new W10 computer. I've looked at several other getting started type tutorials and no clues there.

I've done embedded systems before so not a complete novice, but i feel like one right now...

12 answers to this question

can't help you with that specific tutorial, sorry. But...

>> I've uninstalled/reinstalled everything

... that working mode sounds familiar and I'm not convinced it leads anywhere.

Zynq is a very complex system. Without a systematic way of debugging, it's hopeless (IMHO). As soon as there are two issues at the same time (and this usually happens), any attempt at unsystematic trial-and-error (like reinstalling etc) is doomed to fail. One reason is there are four Vivado versions a year, and porting a "complex" (e.g. camera) demo from one to the other is a non-trivial undertaking.

Especially if you intend to stick with it for a longer time, you might have a better start studying the various ways to blink a LED (from RTL, PL GPIO from ARM, MIO GPIO, from the handoff hook in the bootloader, from an own .elf file).This may sound absurd but it lets you tackle the problems one by one.

But that said, maybe someone else can help with the specific question...