Using XADC on a Zybo Z7 board

NotMyCupOfTea

Question

Hi,

Problem :

I am new to FPGA and I would need to understand how to read an Analog input through the XADC to analyze it on the board and then be able to accordingly output a trigger for other machines.

One simple thing that I would try to do for the time being is to read in the analog signal and wire it to a led so that I could effectively see the code is working. How do I do that ?

Finally, one extra constraint is that I have to limit as much as possible the use of the Zynq processor (I'm not really sure this is achievable, please excuse my lack of knowledge).

Product :

I use the Zybo Z7 board XC7Z010-1CLG400C and Vivado Design Suite 18.3

What I have tried :

I think the tutorial I've seen that best suits be needs is this one : https://cdn.instructables.com/ORIG/FRT/SYN1/IWMMH04D/FRTSYN1IWMMH04D.pdf

Everything is alright until it comes to copy the instantiation template into the wrapper. I'm not really sure of how this works.

After that, it is said there that the Digital input I'm interested in is named "daddr_in" ==> how should I extract it then to - let's say - connect it to a led ?

Please find the Constraint file and project in the attached files and let me know if you need more.

I have also made other attempts through this : http://realisenow.sdu.dk/using-the-xadc-on-the-zybo-board/

Hence a question on the fly : when I open the SDK and enter a code in C, then I'm starting to ork on the PS isn't it ?

Finally, I have also tried the XADC demo project on the digilent website but couldn't sort out how to adapt it to my needs.

Thank you in advance for your healp, !

Zybo-Z7-Master.xdc design_1_wrapper.v xadc_wiz_0.v

5 answers to this question

Hi @NotMyCupOfTea,

Welcome to the Digilent forums!