Programming

Question

Hello Everyone,
I am encountering some errors with my codes.Being a beginner, I dn't know much about loops.. I tried to use multiple looping but i cn't reach a proper result....can anyone help??? and PFA my flowchart post-50-0-99135500-1419269244_thumb.png
 my codes are as follows:

library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.all;

entity comparator is 
generic (N : integer := 6);
port(
S : in STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(N-1 downto 0);
Z : out STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(2 downto 0)
    );
end comparator;

architecture comparator of comparator is 
  begin
       process(S)
       begin 
 comp1: for N in 0 to 4 loop -- for the sensors 0-4--

if  S(N) < S(N-1) then
 N <= N+1;
elsif ( comp2: while ( S(N)= '1')loop )   then --for S(N) < max value --

Z(0) <= 1 ;             --rotate in specific direction--
end loop comp2; 

elsif N = '4' then

Z(1) <= 1; --reset motor that is return to initial position --

else 
             N <= N+1;

end if;
      end if;
    end if;

end loop comp1;

if S(5) > S(2) then
        Z(2) <= 1 ;-- second motor is rotated --
   end if;
 end process;
 end comparator;
end comparator;

and here are the errors:

# Compile...
# Warning: DAGGEN_0523: The source is compiled without the -dbg switch. Line breakpoints and assertion debug will not be available.
# File: c:My_Designscomparatorcomparatorsrccomparator.vhd
# Compile Entity "comparator"
# Compile Architecture "comparator" of Entity "comparator"
# Error: COMP96_0015: comparator.vhd : (22, 16): ')' expected.
# Error: COMP96_0019: comparator.vhd : (22, 18): Keyword 'then' expected.
# Error: COMP96_0019: comparator.vhd : (22, 41): Keyword 'end' expected.
# Error: COMP96_0111: comparator.vhd : (25, 13): Labels do not match.
# Error: COMP96_0019: comparator.vhd : (27, 10): Keyword 'end' expected.
# Error: COMP96_0019: comparator.vhd : (31, 10): Keyword 'end' expected.
# Error: COMP96_0016: comparator.vhd : (32, 14): Design unit declaration expected

12 answers to this question

Hi 1116345,