Output Port on IP Core

newkid_old

Question

I created a custom IP block that has some inputs and an output.  I've ran the logic through the simulator and confirmed that everything is working as expected.  I've packaged the custom block and added to the Arty A7 board.  I've tied the output of my module to an physical output of the Arty (PMOD A pint to be precise).  My problem is that I get no output from my module.  I look at the signal with my oscope and see what looks to be a 80mV pulse where there should be a 3.3v pulse.  Any help or clue as to why I'm not seeing my output would greatly be appreciated?

Cheers

Trigger IP.JPG

8 answers to this question

Jon,

Thanks for the pointer on the ILA.  Whereas I wasn't able to get the module running in my block design I was able to find my problem.  The simulation ran fine for my IP but when I tried the Implemented Simulator, I'm seeing exactly what I see on my o-scope which is a 12nS pulse.  I have no experience in troubleshooting between simulator and implemented design.  Any suggestions?

Cheers

I found a solution to this issue but not using the ILA module.  I found this setting in the Synthesis tab in the settings called "keep equivalent registers".  Clicked this setting and rerun the synthesis.  It was deleting my Pulse_Length(15:0) input for some reason and this setting keeps it.  Hopefully this bit of knowledge will help someone.

Cheers,

Curt

Hi,

check the warnings. Most likely there is a bug in your design. If the tools remove logic, it's redundant - either you did tie it intentionally to a constant or there is some other issue (e.g. no clock) that makes the pulse_length input non-observable in the output.