Choosing the right Multisim

cliftw

Question

I'm a high school teacher trying to buy the right software for use with Basys3 boards.  I know xilinx software can be used.  I'm interested in Multisim, so I can use it for analog circuit simulation as well as integrated logic simulation and schematic capture with the Basys3 board.

Multisim Education is about $628/seat.  They also have site licenses that make sense at about 25+ seats, for a yearly subscription.  But on the digilent web site, they also offer this:

https://store.digilentinc.com/ni-multisim-student-edition-circuit-design-and-simulation-software

which is a $40 student multisim.  NI claims these are for students only to purchase and I don't know if that is a limited version.  The Digilent web site doesn't mention usage restrictions for installing them in a computer lab used only by students.

Does anyone know

1) Is this $40 version a permanent license?

2) Is it OK to purchase by a high school and install in a student-used computer lab?

3) Is it more limited in some way?

Thanks for any expertise you might have.

1 answer to this question

Hi @cliftw,

Digilent simply sells the Multisim Student Edition (as opposed to licensing it), so we are not able to readily comment with certainty in terms of who is authorized to install and use that particular edition of Multisim, though it is my understanding that the $40 version is a permanent license, so long as the user remains in enrolled in the Academic Institution, as per section 4 of Addendum E in the English version of the National Instruments Software License Agreement, https://www.ni.com/pdf/legal/us/software_license_agreement.pdf.