charlieho

How to connect an external FIFO to FPGA

Question

Hello Community,

I am a newbie and am using Xilinx Vivado 2018.1.

I have a project with Kintex 7. I want to connect an external FIFO ( 72T18125L4 )  to Kintex 7 and I want to implement an interface in Kintex 7 to communicate with this FIFO.

Please give me the idea!

Sorry if I posted in wrong place! :(

Thank you very much!

Best regards,

Charlie.

10 answers to this question

Posted (edited)

Thinking of which... actually I do have a plain-Verilog FIFO around from an old design.

It's not a showroom piece but I think it did work as expected (whatever that is...) For 131072 elements you'd set ADDRBITS to 17 and DATABITS to 18 for 18 bit width.

module FIFO(i_clk, i_reset, 
	    i_push, i_pushData, 
	    i_pop, o_popAck, o_popData, 
	    o_empty,
	    o_full,
	    o_error, 
	    o_nItems, o_nFree);
   parameter DATABITS = -1;   
   parameter ADDRBITS = -1;
   localparam ADDR_ZERO = {{(ADDRBITS){1'b0}}};
   localparam ADDR_ONE = {{(ADDRBITS-1){1'b0}}, 1'b1};   
   localparam DATA_X = {{(DATABITS){1'bx}}};
   input wire i_clk;
   input wire i_push;
   input wire i_reset;   
   input wire [DATABITS-1:0] i_pushData;
   input wire 		     i_pop;
   output reg 		     o_popAck = 1'b0;
   output wire [DATABITS-1:0] o_popData;
   output reg 		      o_error = 1'b0;   
   output wire [31:0] 	      o_nItems;
   output wire [31:0] 	      o_nFree;   
   output wire 		      o_empty;  
   output wire 		      o_full;   
   reg 			      popAckB = 1'b0;

reg [DATABITS-1:0] 	      mem[((1 << ADDRBITS)-1):0];
   reg [ADDRBITS-1:0] 	      pushPtr = ADDR_ZERO;
   reg [ADDRBITS-1:0] 	      popPtr = ADDR_ZERO;
   reg [DATABITS-1:0] 	      readReg = DATA_X;
   reg [DATABITS-1:0] 	      readRegB = DATA_X;
   wire [ADDRBITS-1:0] 	      nextPushPtr = i_push ? pushPtr + ADDR_ONE : pushPtr;
   wire [ADDRBITS-1:0] 	      nextPopPtr = i_pop ? popPtr + ADDR_ONE : popPtr;

assign o_popData = o_popAck ? readReg : DATA_X;