RISC-V on Nexys A7?

aeon20

Question

I'd like to run RISC-V with very basic (command line only, obviously) Linux on a Nexys A7 just to play around with it. Since I'm a beginner I find it hard to adapt steps for other boards.

If anyone could suggest a tutorial that either matches Nexys A7 exactly, or would be as easy as possible for me to adapt, that would be great.

4 answers to this question

2 hours ago, aeon20 said:

Since I'm a beginner I find it hard to adapt steps for other boards.

The following observation is merely a philosophical viewpoint. If you've never built anything or flown an aircraft would you try to assemble a DYI prop plane kit with the intention of learning how to be a self-taught pilot? I realize that most beginners are motivated by grand dreams and I'm not knocking that at all. Perhaps it's better to take the slow difficult road of developing skills and conceptual understanding before tackling difficult projects. You need a solid foundation to learn from other's code. You might well succeed in replicating kwiber's experience but it will be of limited usefulness.

@zygot

34 minutes ago, zygot said:

The following observation is merely a philosophical viewpoint. If you've never built anything or flown an aircraft would you try to assemble a DYI prop plane kit with the intention of learning how to be a self-taught pilot? I realize that most beginners are motivated by grand dreams and I'm not knocking that at all. Perhaps it's better to take the slow difficult road of developing skills and conceptual understanding before tackling difficult projects. You need a solid foundation to learn from other's code. You might well succeed in replicating kwiber's experience but it will be of limited usefulness.