Hello! Zybo Z7-10 Newbie here for help!

Harza55

Question

Hello everyone!

I'm Harri, an EE Master's student. Me and my team are currently working on assignments for three different courses around the topics of FreeRTOS, digital filtering and hardware-in-the-loop with MATLAB and Simulink. We are using the Zybo Z7-10 board and Vivado/SDK v.2018.2.

In the first project, we are trying to use the Xilinx port of FreeRTOS to run a control engineering state-space-model on the ARM side. The vision is to have the model, which is a DC-converter, run at 10 kHz and the output of the model is shown as PWM to the onboard RGB LED. The project should also have a menu system via UART/Ethernet or by buttons and switches. These should be mutually exclusive, so when one input method is in use, the other will be blocked. We are kind of puzzled with this one, because our initial plan was to enable interrupts for GPIO and UART and then have those either take a semaphore from the ISR or send a struct to a queue from ISR. So far using the xscugic and registering the interrupts has been a huge puzzle for us and the workflow around this is unclear to us. We have managed to get task notifications to work from button press to periodic task, but trying anything more than that e.g. queues seems to not work. Any help on these topics would be highly appreciated!