Problem with Verilog module (Basys3 Board)

jrosengarden

Question

Hi All:

I'm fairly new to both Verilog and the Basys3 board.  I'm working thru a 'self education' course.  I'm having a problem with the following module.  I could use any answers/advice I can get.
The module, as posted (below) is processed by Vivado properly, loads into the Basys3 board and runs as expected with the LED blinking at a frequency of .7451 Hz.  No problems.

The example I'm working thru then threw out a 'challenge' of changing the frequency of the blinking LED based on the positions of two switches [1:0].
     1.  I added in the additional input - input [1:0] sw
     2.  I added in the case statement (which is currently commented out)
     3.  I commented out the original assignment of led - //assign led = clkdiv[26];

The problem crops up immediately with a Verilog error showing on the following line: case(sw)
     - The error states: Error: 'sw' is not a constant

I've spent hours trying various changes...all to no avail.  

HELP....PLEASE!!!!     Thanks Tons!

VERILOG MODULE:

module clk_divider(
    input clk,
    input rst,
    input [1:0] sw,
    output led
    );

wire [26:0] din;
wire [26:0] clkdiv;

dff dff_inst (
    .clk(clk),
    .rst(rst),
    .D(din[0]),
    .Q(clkdiv[0])
);

genvar i;
generate
for (i = 1; i < 27; i=i+1) 
begin : dff_gen_label
    dff dff_inst (
        .clk(clkdiv[i-1]),
        .rst(rst),
        .D(din),
        .Q(clkdiv)
    );
    end
endgenerate

assign din = ~clkdiv;

/*
begin                                                                 
case(sw)  
    2'b00: assign led = clkdiv[26];  
    2'b01: assign led = clkdiv[25];
    2'b10: assign led = clkdiv[24];
    2'b11: assign led = clkdiv[23];                                  
    default: assign led = clkdiv[26];
endcase
end
*/

assign led = clkdiv[26];

endmodule

10 answers to this question

jpeyron: