AXI4 and Vivado ILA

Sduru

Question

Hello,

My question is related to AXI4 usage in digital image processing. As I am new in image processing with HDL coding, I need to get this valuable answer from you @jpeyron @zygot @JColvin especially. I am using Zybo Z7 and PCAM 5C for my project. As a good start in my opinion, I wanna get digital image from CMOS through D-PHY and MIPI CSI-2 RX. And then, I just wanna scope the digital image bits by using Integrated Logic Analyzer (ILA). For this purpose, do I have to use AXI4 streaming and/or other AXI IPs in my VHDL design? In other words, can I pass the data from CSI-2 interface to ILA directly? If it is possible only with AXI interface, so I will deeply study the AXI4 referance manuals.  Many thanks...

14 answers to this question

6 hours ago, Sduru said:

I just wanna scope the digital image bits by using Integrated Logic Analyzer (ILA). For this purpose, do I have to use AXI4 streaming and/or other AXI IPs in my VHDL design?

No, you should be able to use any of the PL input pins for your own logic or and ILA. You might have to create copies of output signals.

Thank you @zygot . I've created the block design without AXI4 Stream like in the following:

image.png.df545384c90f8b84da2b5899f353e2e9.png

But, I am getting the following errors:

[Common 17-55] 'get_property' expects at least one object. Resolution: If [get_] was used to populate the object, check to make sure this command returns at least one valid object.

[BD 41-1273] Error running post_propagate TCL procedure: ERROR: [Common 17-55] 'get_property' expects at least one object. ::digilentinc.com_ip_MIPI_D_PHY_RX_1.3::post_propagate Line 6

Do you have any idea for those errors above?

In the link https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/56169.html , it says that this error is related to XDC file.