Would I be able to self learn FPGA programming Zynq 7000 series?

Jonathon Kay

Question

Dear all, 

Would need some affirmation from any engineer out there. Would I be able to self learn FPGA programming? My background is mainly electronics, a jack of few trades but master of none kind. I could understand digital circuitry, did some programming on Perl for CGI scripts and C++. I used to program the good old 8051 microprocessor and Microchip PIC16F84 in assembly. But these are like 20 years ago. I am way behind in terms of technology.

I am thinking deeply to invest in buying the Zedboard as I observed most of the online tutorial are based on this development board. But it will cost me a bomb and I need to be sure I am investing on the correct thing. I understand Zedboard is already in the market for many years, would it still be the right platform to invest in?

Would greatly appreciate any advise on this. In addition, what forum would best serves me in this learning process?

Thanks.

19 answers to this question

1 hour ago, D@n said:

Based upon a (self-selected) sampling of all FPGA designers (who follow my twitter feed), a full 65% of them are self taught!

Wow!!! Based on a (self-selected) sampling of all FPGA designers ( who are me ) it's un-scienctifically proven that no one cares. It's hard to tell if you are being serious or just in a 'mood'. It could be that no one who does this professionally follows your twitter feed... but all of your qualification may be a hint. Facebook currently needs pollsters with your skills.