FPGA board for capturing high speed ADC data

EELE

Question

Hi there,

I'm a newbie here, and I'm looking for an FPGA evaluation board for capturing data from a high speed ADC (such as ADS5484EVM 16 bit, 170 Msps from Texas Instrument). I found "Nexys A7 - FPGA Trainer Board Recommended for ECE Curriculum" on Digilent's store but I don't know if it can handle this task or not.

Could anyone please confirm if I can use this development board or recommend for any other boards? Also, will I need to buy an adapter to connect to ADS5484EVM?

Any recommendation would be highly appreciate. Thank you!

12 answers to this question

@EELE

It's a shame but there aren't any reasonably priced options for Xilinx FPGA development board connectivity to high speed ADCs in the >12 bit > 100 MHz realm. I'm always looking out for such things. There are a few quite expensive FMC boards ( Terasic has a new FMC ADC board that might be affordable but their website doesn't post a price so I don't know if it's available or not  ). There are some options using Intel FPGA boards and HSMC connectors. Most of the high speed ADC evaluation boards from vendors like ADI or Ti require specialized data capture/control hardware and are designed to just evaluate performance. Of those few offer a wide band general purpose analog front end as they are geared toward communications applications.