Green/Red detector and button controlled car (BASYS3/VHDL)

kmesne

Question

Hi, I am a 2nd-year ee student, and I need to make a term Project. With BASYS3 by using VHDL.

My purpose is constructing a car which can be controlled with the buttons on BASYS3 ( I think I need Bluetooth module for it to RC a car). In addition to that my car should stop when it sees red ( i think I should use a color sensor for it) and should not work until it sees a green. These “red” and “green” can be anything like green cubic toys.

This color sensor does not have to be mounted on the car, but it would be better if it is.

I have very little information about basys3, vhdl, sensor design, etc. (this is my first course in ee I was learning principle courses like math, phy, cs )

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks.

6 answers to this question

Hi @kmesne,

We responded to your other question here with some detail, but I will try to elaborate a little bit more here.

The Pmod COLOR is not intended to detect colors from any sort of distance, so you would need it next to the red/green light indicator and then have it transmit data to the main controller for the car as opposed to be mounted on the car (unless the red/green indicator was on the car itself). I believe the Pmod COLOR could detect the green in a green cube, but it would need to be fairly well lit up due to the limitations of the sensor itself.