Question about adding Pmod

Mingfei

Question

Hi everyone,

I'm really new to digilent board. I'm using the PYNQ-Z1 board to do my final project. What I'm gonna build is basically an oscilloscope. I use Pmod-AD5 to measure voltage, then use HDMI OUT port on PYNQ-Z1 to display the voltage value. Because the PYNQ board has the same board files as ARTY-Z7, so my project is based on Arty Z7 HDMI Out Demo:https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/pmod-ips/start . The HDMI demo works fine.

Then I followed this link: https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/pmod-ips/start to use Pmod. I first test the Pmod-AD5 by creating a new project with one ZYNQ processor connected to Pmod AD5 and it works fine.

However, If I added Pmod to HDMI demo, I can only get a constant voltage value from AD5 and it doesn't change no matter what voltage I input. I have attached the critical warning as attachment. It seems like a problem with constraints. So may I ask whether if I should add Pmod constraints and how to do that?  

I also attached the block diagrams of HDMI demo, my test for Pmod, and the HDMI demo with Pmod. Thank you so much for helping me.

pmod.png

HDMI-DEMO.png

pmod-test.png

HDMI-with-pmod.png

7 answers to this question

Hi @Mingfei,

Welcome to the Digilent forums!

I would suggest starting with a fresh non-altered Arty-Z7-20 HDMI-OUT project.

Once you have opened the Arty-Z7-20 HDMI-OUT project in Vivado 2018.2 then:

1) Download the Vivado library.

2) In Vivado 2018.2 click on IP in project setting select repository and add the path to the vivado library.

3) Then right click on the pmod port of your choice and select the Pmod AD5.

4) Double click into the zynq processor select pl clocks and add a 50 MHz clock and select OK. 

5) Connect the 50 MHz clock to the ext_spi_clk pin on the Pmod AD5 then run connection automation.

6) Right click on the wrapper and update the hierarchy. 

7) generate bitstream