PCAM 5c with ZyboZ7 - Can not get camera images

Ted

Question

Hi everyone, 

So I have spent probably too much time trying to figure this stuff out on my own.  I should preface this with I have little to no experience with these types of boards (FPGA).  I followed the Demo documentation (https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/github-demos/start ) line by line, multiple times and keep netting the same results.  I have installed version "Vivado Design Suite & Xilinx SDK 2016.4" and downloaded the appropriate project files for the PCAM 5D project (2016.4)

I am using a windows 10 machine.

The demo instructions don't actually tell you how to get the camera to turn on.  It tells you how to program and connect everything and then jumps into how to communicate via the UART communication channel..so it could be as simple as I'm missing the most obvious step due to my lack of experience.

All I ever get through HDMI is what appears to be called the "Zybo Z7-20 Rev. B Demo Image"  it comes up on power on, goes away during programming, and when I run either fsbl or  pcam_vdma_hdmi the screen will go black for a moment then come back to the moving color "demo screen"

any input/guidance would be greatly appreciated

13 answers to this question

Hi @Ted,

Welcome to the Digilent forums!

Once you program the fpga and run the application in SDK the Pcam-5C the project should be outputting an image out through the HDMI-OUT port. You do not have anything to turn on. 

1) To verify, you are using the Zybo-Z7-20 and not the Zybo-Z7-10?

2) Make sure that the HDMI cable going to your monitor from the Zybo-Z7-20 is connected to the HDMI-OUT port.  

3) Make sure that the metal strip on the Pcam-5C is facing the correct way when connecting to the MIPI-2 port on the Zybo-Z7-20.

4) Are you moving the Pcam-5C after running the application to see if the Pcam-5C is outputting an image to the HDMI?

5) Are you getting any error showing in the sdk tcl console?