Arty A7 -35T gets hot, even when unprogrammed

Deskarano

Question

Hello,

I bought an Arty A7-35T a few months ago. I'm a student in computer science, who wanted to gain some experience in hardware design. I never had any issues with the Arty until a few days ago, where I was experimenting with some configurations involving MicroBlaze and the onboard DDR3. As I was running some code on the MicroBlaze, I noticed that the FPGA chip had become very hot. I figured that this was normal, considering that there is a whole soft processor programmed in the fabric. However, when I unplugged the Arty and re-programmed it with a different, much simpler configuration, it quickly became just as hot. Now, even when the FPGA is unprogrammed, the Artix 7 chip quickly becomes too hot to touch.

Is there any way to solve or debug this problem? As I said, I am studying computer science (not electrical engineering) so I'm a bit lost as to how I could solve this issue.

Thanks!

Gregor

Edit: forgot to mention, the Arty still works! It runs any configuration that I program on it, it just also overheats very quickly and I don't want to cause long-term damage to the device.

22 answers to this question

Hi again,

Sorry for bumping this old topic, but I finally managed to get some good readings on some of the power rail capacitors and resistors. I used this diagram to identify the components to measure:

image.png.7e822d7535213d41e787cf672a941c3c.png

5V Rail

C170: .12V

C171: 1.79V

C176: 3.26V

C177: 3.26V

VCCINT Rail

C172: 1.78V

C173: 3.25V

DDRVCC Rail

R253: 1.42V

C174: 1.24V

C175: 3.26V

1.8V Rail

R304: couldn't find

C180: 0V (missing? see attached)

C181: 3.26V

3.3V Rail

R254: 4.03V

C178: 3.26V

C179: .8V (missing?)

As I mentioned above, some of the capacitors in this circuit appear to be missing. Here's a picture of what they look like:IMG_0788.thumb.jpg.a5531fdc88cd72a65532553ba83dcede.jpg