Digital Discovery - Logic DIO's are different to DIO's from the patterngenerator

stef

Question

Hey to all,

I'm new to Digilent products and the documentation of the DD is a bit less than I thought :-( . So hopefully anybody can help me out here. 

I'm trying to read a 16-Bit-parallel ADC with my Digital Discovery. First step is to send a Reset condition with the Patterngenerator.  If I want to check the sent Bits with the Logic analyzer, it seems quite different to what I expect. (shown in the picture below !     it starts with "Patterns2" followed by "Patterns1", the gap in the Logic is the pause between those patterns) DIO24 and DIO26 are vice versa for some reason and the reset pulse that should get low, doesn't even occur... also there is some bouncing at DIO26

1139228607_fehlerDD.thumb.jpg.10b2a2b261a0c168177e0f510e6697bc.jpg

Checked the wires ->  they're ok... it has to be some issue with my settings.

Maybe it's not possible to write and read this DIO's at the same time?

I hope you can help me!

11 answers to this question

Hi @stef,

Could you post your WaveForms project and script that you are using? I'm not certain what all of the time bases are on the logic analyzer screenshots and when each of your patterns are triggered.

I'm not certain what you are thinking by your statement of "Maybe it's not possible to write and read this DIO's at the same time", but in general you would not want to assign the same wire to be both an input and an output simultaneously, you would instead want the output wire (from the pattern generator) to go a different wire as a logic analyzer input, but again I'm not certain of your physical setup. Could you attach a picture of your setup?

Thanks,
JColvin

Hi @stef

You are not seeing the 100ns RST pulse probably because you were capturing it with the Logic Analyzer at low rate (<=10MHz, >=100ns). (i don't see the rate in the screenshot)
The sample rate should be higher that the pulse length.